Motivational management theory

10 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
jollyjiminy

Motivational management theory

by jollyjiminy » 18 Oct 2009 20:37

Having had the great pleasure of managing people over the last ten years, sometimes running into several score, sometimes a small handful depending on the role I've been doing, I've always been aware of the challenge of getting people to work for you - and I mean so that they really WANT to work for you, 'cos thats the point that they're going to deliver. They're not going to be so productive if they're nervous or demoralised, or suspicious of you, or if they don't understand what you're getting at. I've been lucky enough to have picked up decent training and good role models etc as I've gone along, but I wouldn't say I'm an expert on theory of how to motivate people. However I think I've got an idea, and I can understand how why managers with different styles get people to deliver: I get Ferguson's hairdryer treatment - after all the guy knows when to apply it and when not to. I can understand why Coppell stuck with a winning team even if it was a wee bit frustrating when the win wasn't mega convincing.